Home > Daily Work > First Weekend in Northeast Nebraska

First Weekend in Northeast Nebraska

I started my photo internship on Saturday.  Working for the Northeast Nebraska News Company and the Cedar County News has been wonderful so far.  Rob, Peggy and everyone else here has been more than helpful with everything I might need, want, or not even know that I wanted.

Saturday I photographed a baseball game in Hartington, Neb., went to a girl’s softball tournament in Crofton, Neb., went up to Gavin’s Point Dam near Yankton, S.D., and attended the Cedar County Relay for Life in Laurel, Neb.

Today I was lucky enough to take some aerial shots of the Missouri River flooding near and at Gavin’s Point Dam.  It was the first time I have done anything like that, and I learned a lot.  Later, Deanna, one of the reporters, and I went up to talk to Steve Parsons of Crofton, Neb.  He and his family live right on the river and are trying to pack up everything they own and move out when the flood waters rise more.  His house is projected to be under water in the next couple of weeks.  Parsons has been fighting for sandbags or other assistance from the state, but he has not received any help.  “South Dakota has done so much and Nebraska has done nothing,” he said.

Categories: Daily Work
  1. June 6, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Nice start, Anna. You should seriously consider following up with Steve, and soon. Could turn into a great story.

    • June 6, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      Thanks Andrew!! I have already spoken to him about doing an extended story. He was all for it. He wants his story to be told so that maybe something will happen for his family and his neighbors. I’m looking forward to following up with him in the next couple of days.

  2. June 9, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Good to hear. Good luck out there.

  3. June 9, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Oh and tell Rob I say hello!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

